Surat Municipal Institute of Medical Education & Research
Surat Municipal Institute of Medical Education & Research welcomes you ...
College Council


  • The college council shall be purely an advisory body and will be extending its recommendation to Dean for day to day administration and to achieve academic excellence
  • To constitute committees to prepare draft-teaching schedule of lecture, practical, seminar and other training activities. The committee should have representation of staff from Pre, Para and Clinical subjects or discipline
  • To hold meeting of the college council to discuss academic schedule for the every academic year and finalize the programme
  • To promote and extend support to research activities in the institute
  • To promote and discuss feasibility of academic exchange programme with institute of national & international repute
  • To review examination results and suggest necessary corrective measures if necessary, facilitating teaching learning experience
  • To discuss and provide recommendations on matters concerning the students, hostel facilities, houseman, PG etc.
  • To review activities of various committees such as ethical committee, hospital infection control committee library committee etc.
  • To consider the matter related to staff, student and patient's welfare activities.




College Council comprises with the Dean as the Chairman and the Medical Superintendent and all the professors & heads of the departments as members:

Sr. No. Name of Members Designations
1. Dean Chairman
2. Medical Superintendent Member
3. Professor of Physiology Member
4. Professor of Biochemistry Member
5. Professor of Anatomy Member
6. Professor of Pharmacology Member
7. Professor of P.S.M Member
8. Professor of Pathology Member
9. Professor of Microbiology Member
10. Professor of Forensic Medicine & Toxicology. Member
11. Professor of General Medicine Member
12. Professor of Orthopaedics Member
13. Professor of Anaesthesiology Member
14. Professor of Paediatrics Member
15. Professor of General Surgery Member
16. Professor of Ophthalmology Member
17. Professor of Obst. & Gynae Member
18. Professor of E.N.T Member